A Mission Statement of Sorts

So in terms of a first post, I wanted to provide a short narrative for why I started this blog, what I hope to accomplish, and lay out some of the obvious biases you will encounter if you read this. Firstly, I should state that I am a member of the music business, employed by an independent label (a major label does have ownership interest without managerial control) as a sysadmin. Since I’m not in the more traditional label role (press, marketing, or production) I bring a different voice to the table; with the proliferation of music content on the Internet, I believe that my perspective is a needed one for an industry that is in flux due to technology. That is my primary interest in blogging on this space…

I am a huge fan of music and I’m bullish in my belief that the future of music is bright; however years have been lost to the fruitless, circle-the-wagons tactics of suing music traders and technologists. But change is slowly appearing in the industry stance and I think we will get there, even if it requires some rough transitioning.

At any rate, let’s see where this all goes…

[UPDATE 1/30/09] I have changed the focus of this blog.  You can read more about it in my post A New Focus.

~ by Som on October 26, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
